The Sunday Currently Vol. 3

Reading

Almost finished with Meet Me in the Bathroom, an oral history of the New York music scene during the 2000s. There is so much delicious gossip and funny anecdotes about the era that gave us The Strokes, LCD Soundsystem, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and the White Stripes, among a slew of other seminal bands. I thought I’d finish it quicker but even though it’s a really easy read, every time I read something extra juicy I have to put the book down for a while so I can process the information. It’s pretty much all I’ve been talking about to friends and Joff for a few weeks now and I think I might be annoying them already. Everyone needs to read this book!

Writing

I wrote this for FHM a couple days ago. And I’ve started working on my food zine again LOL. I swear to glob I’m going to finish it this time.

Listening

I was heavy on that Bodak Yellow tip a few weeks ago. Cardi B is a QUEEN. These days I’ve been listening to Rilo Kiley, Wilco, Frankie Cosmos, Father John Misty and Johnny Gallagher’s debut album Six Day Hurricane.

Thinking

I’ve been thinking a lot about to use my time more productively. I’ve got a lot of plans for September and I really hope I get everything done.

Wishing

We could get a dog already but we have to wait another month and it’s killing meeee.

Hoping

For better weather. I can’t with the insane humidity anymore.

Loving

The Good Wife! Lol. I’d been meaning to start it for years but just got around to it a couple weeks ago and I’m really loving it. I’m almost halfway through the second season.

Wanting

More fast food vegan options. Been craving hotdogs recently and wish I had access to good vegan sausages. This dude’s Instagram feed is not helping.

Needing

I ran out of my Sephora clarifying booster a month ago and started to notice a difference immediately. The stuff was so good for my skin! It got rid of redness and reduced the appearance of my pores. But since it’s still out of stock I’m gonna try some Cosrx products that I read about in this article (do check it out, it has some life-changing skincare advice).

Feeling

Pretty good! Joff and I went on a nice walk around the neighborhood this afternoon and got some delicious vegetarian pad thai and tofu with tomato sauce for dinner, then capped it off with pistachio and mascarpone gelato. A Sunday for the books.

Author: Chiara Cui

Writer, editor, hummus purveyor, baboushka in training

Leave a Reply

