The Sunday Currently Vol. 2

And eight months later, we’re here. Sorry ’bout that. When I last updated, we had just moved to our apartment in Hai Ba Trung, had just taken up running, and I was still freelancing. Joff was still with ATK and we were settling in nicely into our life in Hanoi, five months into our move. Today, we’re a year and two months in and life is pretty fucking peachy. I’ve had a steady job since last November, Joff now works at Rec Room, and we’ve just moved into a new apartment in Tay Ho. I’ve also been starting to run a small food business once again selling hummus, baba ganoush, and a few other vegan provisions. A lot has happened since I last wrote. In April, Joff and I became vegetarian and it’s turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Aside from losing some weight, I feel like my whole perspective on food has changed. I’ve found that I’m enjoying cooking and eating a lot more than before. It’s gotten me really excited about food again, and I’m glad for the mental shake-up.

IMG_3745
Today’s lunch at Sesame, our favorite vegan restaurant

Anywho, here’s what my Sunday looks like.

Reading

I’m in the middle of two books that I honestly have been struggling to get through: The Wonder by Emma Donoghue and Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own by Kate Bolick. They’re both great; I just haven’t been in the best head space the last couple of months. I might just abandon them and start something new. I’m thinking I’ll Tell You in Person by Chloe Caldwell because I could use a good laugh.

Writing

As usual, I wish I was writing more than I actually have been. Recently I wrote two articles for Esquire Philippines; both travel articles. One on Vietnam, which you can read here and one on Bangkok.

Listening

The last thing I listened to obsessively was theΒ Big Little Lies soundtrack. Other than that, podcasts, specificallyΒ My Favorite Murder, Two Dope Queens, and Special Sauce with Ed Levine.

Thinking

Drag Race off-season SUCKS.

Smelling

Freshly cooked chickpeas that are sitting on the kitchen counter. Making a big batch of hummus tonight.

Wishing

I’d bought a cute pot for my new plant yesterday at plant street (Hoang Hoa Tham).

Hoping

This month goes well. We’re flying to Saigon in a couple days then to Manila/El Nido for my brother’s wedding. Excited to be going home and seeing everyone. This is the longest I’ve gone without seeing my family and I really miss them.

Loving

Our new apartment and the show GLOW. I finished it in two days and I need MORE.

Wanting

More plants and an English bulldog. A new show to obsess over.

Needing

More art to hang in this apartment.

Feeling

Cautiously optimistic.

Clicking

Anything related to drag queens. Mostly videos from here.

Leave a Reply

