The answer is perilla

Hi y’all. I’m writing this on a particularly good day. Joff and I made burgers for lunch, booked our tickets/lodging for our Bangkok trip in October, and I got some writing done! And all before 4 pm! That’s enough reason to celebrate, if you ask me. (Scoff at my measly productivity goals all you want. I’m an unemployed loaf, cut me some slack.) 

I want to tell you about the spring rolls I made last week. Now, I’ve made spring rolls a bunch of times in the past, but these were different, these spring rolls were special~ and that’s all thanks, in part, to the wonder herb that is Vietnamese perilla (aka shiso).

Typically, Vietnamese spring rolls contain pork, shrimp or crab, mushrooms, carrots, (arrowroot) vermicelli, onions, and garlic. It’s seasoned with some salt, sugar, and fish sauce before it’s rolled up in some rice paper and fried til crisp. Lately, though, I’d been daydreaming about a certain flavor combination that I thought would go really well together: pork and perilla.

Ever since we moved to Vietnam, I’ve been obsessed with the local herbs, Vietnamese perilla and lemon balm in particular. These two herbs are always on the table during bun cha and banh xeo, tucked into a bowl of bun bo nam bo, and of course, served with a plate of spring rolls or nem. I affectionately refer to them as the Splash Brothers of Vietnamese cuisine, cos as long as they’re around, you’re guaranteed a winning meal.

So this time, in addition to the traditional spring roll filling, I added some chopped perilla into the mixture, and let me tell ya, the moment I took a bite, this song for real started playing in my head.

 

Here’s the (rough) recipe:

  • 350g ground pork
  • 8 brown mushrooms, diced
  • half a large carrot, diced
  • 1/4 a large white onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp. chopped perilla
  • seasonings: 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. sugar, 1 tsp. fish sauce, 1/4 tsp. ground pepper
  • a pack of rice paper wrapper
  • vegetable oil for frying

1. Dice the mushrooms, carrot, onion, and perilla.

DSCF4013

4. Mix the veg and herb with the ground pork. Use your hands, get dirty.

DSCF4015

DSCF4017

3. Pat the mixture down, spreading it out until you’ve got about an inch of filling from the top to the bottom and all around the bowl. This will make it easier to incorporate the seasoning and will give you a good idea if you’ve seasoned enough.

4. Sprinkle the seasoning on the mixture making sure to cover all areas uniformly, then mix with your hands to fully incorporate.

5. For the rice paper wrapper, grab a bowl and fill it with warm water. Working with one sheet at a time, dip the sheet into the water until the paper becomes pliable (til it’s the texture of fresh spring roll wrappers), then lay the sheet on your working area (I use a large chopping board).

output_Q6h2f8

DSCF4019

6. Take about a tbsp to tbsp and a half worth of the filling and place it near the top of the sheet. Working from the top, take the top and fold it over the filling, then take each side and fold it over that, then roll the wrapped filling all the way down.

7. Heat some oil in a pan and fry them babies up til they’re crisp and have lightly browned.

For the dipping sauce (nuoc cham):

  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 c water
  • splash of rice wine vinegar
  • chopped garlic and chili
  1. Mix the first four ingredients in a bowl til fully combined (make sure sugar is dissolved), and top with the garlic and chili.

* Note: I never measure anything when I cook; I just eyeball everything. The measurements you see here are just rough estimates/guides. Before filling the wrappers, take some of the mixture and fry it up so you can taste if it needs any additional seasoning, then adjust accordingly.

DSCF4046
they may not be the prettiest but they sure are tasty

So that’s my first recipe for this blog. That was pretty fun. I promise to take better pictures next time but when you’ve got raw pork in your hands, washing your hands and taking photos every few minutes is kind of a hassle. (Which is why I enlisted Joff to take some process photos while I did the spring roll wrapping.) Also, it’ll give me an excuse to make more gifs! Please notice the gif!

If you need me to clarify any of the steps, just holla.

Leave a Reply

