The pizza is a lie

Hello, babies.

October has been a tough month. I kept meaning to write, but life got in the way. I also felt a bit uninspired, which I kept kicking myself over because being inspired shouldn’t be a pre-requisite for writing here. So, I’m gonna try to be better about that.

J got really sick two weeks ago so I took that week off work to take care of him. This wasn’t your run-of-the-mill flu, too. It took everything out of him. I’d never seen him that sick. His body just shut down and he was totally helpless. We were convinced it was Dengue but, thankfully, it just turned out to be a particularly nasty viral infection. It took him two weeks to recover. Ugh, it was terrible. I got so worried I would just break down at random times during the day cos I couldn’t figure out what was wrong. Anyway, it’s over now and he’s back to his normal, silly self. We’ve taken it as a sign to keep our immune systems up, especially during this bipolar weather we’re having.

My health hasn’t really been in tip-top shape either, but I’m getting better at taking care of myself. Allergy season is in full swing and it’s been a real bitch. There were times when I’d be sneezing throughout the entire day. My breaking point came during a particularly nasty allergy attack a week ago. I’d been sneezing and sniffling the entire day and when I came home, I couldn’t find my allergy medicine and I started crying in frustration. I got our carpet, drapes, and bed vacuumed a few days later and it’s helped immensely. I really wish I’d done that earlier, but I kept thinking it would just go away by itself. Now I know better.

yayboysandpizza

In between sneezing and taking care of a sick boyfriend, I’ve managed to keep Boys and Pizza running. I needed to get my kicks somehow. I’m super happy about it cos my last post did really well: I got 30 likes! More than any other post has gotten since I started this whole thing. If you haven’t followed it yet, PLEASE DO! I promise it’ll be worth it. If only to inspire the occasional giggle from you.

Other things that have kept me from falling miserably into depression:

  • Survivor! This season has delivered in ways I hadn’t anticipated. Some players I thought would be more aggressive have been relegated to the background, like my main bb, Ciera. But it’s still relatively early days and I know how crazy things get post-merge so I’m already looking forward to that. BUT, fuck we’re only on week 6 and so much has happened already. Despite being a relatively early boot, Varner kicked so much ass and I can’t wait to see him on the show again.
  • How to Get Away with Murder – OMG this show is bonkers. I always dismissed it as some low-brow show that relied on cliffhangers and melodrama — it does, but it’s also SO MUCH MORE THAN THAT. I’ve gotten so used to the cast’s diversity that all other shows just seem so painfullyΒ whiteΒ now. I started it initially so I could see Matt McGorry during OITNB’s off-season. There are some problems with the plot but overall, it is awesome, and if you haven’t gotten on this yet,Β you should.
  • My third Block Party is coming up! It’s on November 7 and 8 at Makiling Park in Ayala Alabang. I’m really gonna try and step it up in terms of booth design. Please come if you can!

BlockPartyJams

Leave a Reply

